And there she goes…

That was the last time i saw her she was bright orange and beautiful brown. She was soft and in her lap i had wonderful dreams and sweet sleep. She was safe and fun too. She was my first cot. So cried my little dolly(edited by me of course!)……….as i comforted her!

Image

It was a sunny day and the world outside was fun but not for my three year old as she saw her cot being disassembled and carted off to strangers.

Her eyes brimming with tears she was inconsolable and her emotion reflected mine.

That was one of the first items i had bought for my first born. I still remember the day when i strolled into the shop saw the baby cot and instantly knew my child had to have that. Along with it i also bought some accessories, a musical chime , some soft toys and fun pillows.

The first time i had placed my dolly there she was scared but then she grew to love it, playing inside it for longer durations and having fun. Her pillows arranged around her she would be sleeping soundly and all snuggled up. The doggy pillow became her most cherished possession and she still retains that.

As the cot is sold off and its new owners take it away i see a slice of my dolly’s childhood vanish before my eyes, what remains are pictures and memories.

I feel horrible too! But letting go is the wisest thing as new horizons and furniture beckons us. With a promise to buy her a blue bunk bed i finally quieten her down. As she learns a new lesson to look forward and cherish the bygone days. A lesson reinforced for me again!

 

One thought on “And there she goes…

Leave a Reply

