Friendship of another day!

I look out of the window, see the blue sky and the shimmering waters of the lake. I feel happy another day to look forward to, school, fun and friends. What’s more it was my birthday! I expected gifts, loads of them and lots of cuddles and kisses. Also I wanted a party. My friends didn’t disappoint me, I did get a lot of attention and great gifts. Unable to hold a party, they planned their little treat in a spare classroom during lunch break, shared their lunch boxes and presented me with their gifts. They were inexpensive stuff, but they made me happy, very happy and surprisingly so. Those little gifts, hastily wrapped meant the world to me. My dad came to pick me up from school, I generally travelled by the school bus, he offered to buy all my friends ice lollies, orange flavour, from  the ice cream van just outside our school gates. They loved it and so did I!

It’s been years since that day and many birthdays have passed by, but this one holds a truly special place in my heart. Those were difficult times in my childhood, but I was unable to articulate  that and make my friends understand. With time we drifted apart, set on our life’s various journeys. We met at times, like waves, but the kinship was lost. Till date they are unaware of how much I cherished them and this memory that they created for me.

On the course of life I had my own children.Now, they are in school, making friends, trying to understand the complexities of the social world. They are in their formative stages, little acts of indifference from their friends hurt them. Emotional and sensitive they are, especially to their friends. I see a reflection of my childhood. School life is incomplete without friends.

However, nowadays there is the ever-present social media, Facebook, Twitter, Whatsapp, to name a few. One might propose it’s so easy to reconnect back. Is it truly! I doubt it, yes I am in touch with these friends, do we really connect I don’t think so. We simply stay ‘friends’ on Facebook, out of maybe some old bonds or mere curiosity to find out how life happened to them. This can never be friendship, this is just some emotional mirage. I wonder then what kind of friends will my children have!? Nothing on Earth can replace the human contact, the joy of physically being with people whom you cherish as friends. Nothing can replace the little acts of kindness, love and remembrance that your friends show towards you. To play together, celebrate together, eat ice-cream together and simply share secrets, that’s what friendship means to me, even now.

 

One thought on “Friendship of another day!

Leave a Reply

